5th December 2019[/b
This week, the members held a Practical night. Unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances, the model was unable to attend and we were unable to get a replacement at short notice. The evening continued with some members acting as models, allowing us to practice the effect of different poses, using contrasting and shadow lighting.
As the Community Centre will be closed next week due to the General Election the members will meet in Glasgow for an evening photographing the sights, including the Christmas Lights. The meeting place will be The Donald Dewar statue at seven pm. The following week, 19th December, will be the Christmas social evening.

28th November 2019
Bob Wark from Irvine Camera Club judged the second image competition.
The results were as follows
1st Ying and Yang by Wullie graham
2nd The Three Sisters by Linda Greenhill
3rd Squirrel Foraging by Brian Saberton

21st November 2019

Craig Halkett was the guest speaker at this week’s meeting. Craig worked in the Dark Room of the Daily Record before taking the plunge and moving to work as a Press Photographer. Over the years he has worked with other newspapers including the Evening Times and the Airdrie and Coatbridge Advertiser, winning Sports Photographer of the Year an amazing 6 times and the British Sports Picture of the Year in 2 consecutive years. Craig’s presentation included photographs from the early part of his career where all his cameras were manual rather than digital. He spoke of the differences between the two camera types, including the ease of configuration and focussing and the time taken to actually see the photograph. The images he presented showed a variety of celebrities including Princess Anne, Princess Diana and Tiger Woods. He regaled the members with several anecdotes form his ventures both in Britain and abroad. He also spoke of the 3 days he spent photographing the Lockerbie disaster and how it affected him.
Wilson Murray, on behalf of the members, thanked Craig for an extremely interesting and, at times, hilarious evening.
Next week’s meeting (28th Nov) will be the Projected Image competition for which the judge will be Bob Wark from Beith Camera Club.

14th November 2019

At this week’s meeting the members welcomed Kristina Blyth, a professional make-up artist and model, to their practical night. Katrina quickly built up a good rapport with the members, working well with them to get the best photographs. With her good humour and lovely personality Katrina proved very popular and was given a warm vote of thanks by club president, Linda Greenhill.


Next week, 21st November, the guest speaker will be Craig Halkett whose theme will be “Press Photography”. Craig is well versed in the subject having started working with the Scottish Daily Record in 1968. He later worked with other newspapers before going freelance in 2008, so should have a wealth of interesting photographs and anecdotes with which to regale the members.

7th November 2019

Bob Copeland from Carluke was the judge for the first print competition.
The results were as follows

1st Birds Nest Hair by Andrea Fraser
2nd What by Douglas McEwen
3rd Double Arch by Douglas McEwen

1st Leather on Leather by Wullie Graham
2nd Here is Looking at You by Wullie Graham
3rd= Don't be Fooled by Wullie Graham
3rd= Fragrant Marie by Linda Greenhill

Landscape and General
1st Trees by Margaret Dewar
2nd Up and Over by Dominic Smith
3rd View from Santander by Brian Saberton

31st October 2019

There was a good entry for The Theme Competition tonight. The members present were the judges for the evening.
The results were as follows

1st Balloon Burst by Linda Greenhill
2nd Molten Umbrella by Wullie Graham
3rd Water Droplet by Dominic Smith

1st No Hiding Place by Wullie Graham
2nd Moonlighting by Dominic Smith
3rd Super heroes by Linda Greenhill

2019 Theme Winners

24th October 2019

The meeting was a practical night experimenting with Light Painting where the photographs are taken in a darkened room. Zaria explained the optimum settings to use to obtain the best photographs using different light sources. A variety of light sources were used during the evening including light sabres, torches, glow sticks and multi-coloured light tubes. It was a very enjoyable and entertaining evening and Zaria was warmly thanked for her expertise and enthusiasm.

John McCourt's 70th birthday cake in the shape of a camera was admired and then eaten at the tea break.

John with birth cake